T37 NCR Results

The T37 Sail Fleet held a very successful regatta hosted by the PNMYC and the assisted by the Seattle Yacht Club on Saturday, October 2nd. There were 15 boats contesting the National Championship.   The racing began shortly after 10 am and continued until just before 3 pm followed by an awards presentation of trophies.  Congratulations to Peter Conze for his fourth consecutive National Championship.  Will Lesh and Dan Newland finished with the same Net points.  Since Will had more first place finishes than Dan, Will received the Second Place trophy and Dan Third Place.  See complete scoring below. 

We had light winds from the south and southeast in the morning. Shifty wind conditions make for tricky sailing. With a fairly short course each race was completed in about ten minutes. The afternoon wind filled in a little bit more strongly for the last few races and so we finished with some fast sailing. Overall it was a lovely day, warm with mixed sun and clouds at first and then bright sunshine towards the end of the day. 12 races were sailed.

Allan Van Ness, a lifetime member of Seattle Yacht Club organized the event. Fred Pot did a superb job as head of Race Committee, keeping things flexible with the many necessary course changes based on the shifting wind conditions. SYC member Sue Weiss did the Sailwave scoring and Cindy Gossett, Linda Newland, Dean Shipman, Tom Condon, Art Sortland and others helped with starts and recording the finishes. Many thanks to all of the helpers who lent a hand at the event and to the SYC staff for providing support in the form of floats to sail from, tables and coffee and canopy and scoring station!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: